What are you reading this summer? (And where do you get your books from?)

 

If you’ve read some of the recent Thrifty Finds you’ll know I’ve already found a few secondhand books for my summer holiday reading.

Do you have a list of books you plan to read this summer- whether you are going away or hanging out at home? I’ve made a note of a few books I’d like and started to scour the charity shops. I’ve also picked up a few more that I plan to take on holiday next month.

second hand books, charity shop books

My husband has reserved some of his reading list from the local library. We are very lucky being members of two library services: Wiltshire Libraries and Libraries West (which covers Bath, Bristol, Somerset and South Gloucestershire- you can order books from any of their branches). My husband also has access to the university library where he works. He’s also lucky enough to have a birthday next week so a few more books may be coming his way…..

As for the little readers in our house I’ve been looking out for activity books and novels in charity shops as an alternative to comic books to take on holiday.

Over to you- where do you get your books from? Libraries, charity shops, friends or from free sites such as Freegle? And do you have any reading recommendations? I’d love to hear from you 🙂

7 thoughts on “What are you reading this summer? (And where do you get your books from?)

  1. Barbara says:

    I mostly use the library – through our local branch, we can order books
    from any library in South Australia free of charge. Very occasionally
    there’s something I can’t get that I really want to read so I buy it online.
    Books in Australia tend to be double the price of books elsewhere
    (don’t get me started…). If I’m going on holiday I buy books at op shops
    (charity shops) in case I decide not to bring them home.

  2. Nadine says:

    Nice choice there – Girl on the Train was a fast, great read. I have three sources for my books: two girlfriends and my sister. They are always refilling my stack to read and it’s fun to discuss them afterwards! Surprisingly I have gotten into crime novels this year; I never read or enjoyed them much before, but I have read about 3 from that genre this year. Currently I’m reading “Open Secret” by Deryn Collier – so far a great read. Before that I read “The High Mountains of Portugal” by Yann Martel. If you read that one, let me know what you think!

    • It’s great to have friends and family with similar reading tastes. I have a couple of friends who ALWAYS buy me the right books and, as you say, it’s good to discuss them afterwards. I go through phases with crime fiction; loved the Ian Rankin Rebus series about ten years ago but haven’t read much since.Maybe I’ll try your suggestions…

  3. Cornelia says:

    Hi Kathryn,
    I haven’t commented on your blog before but I have enjoyed reading it for a couple of years now – thank you! I really like the way you write about dilemas, such as weighing up different priorities and the difficulty of buying ethical options when your personal budget is tight. I tie myself in knots over book buying! I buy or order through our local independent book shop (rather than using Amazon) for presents and books I plan to keep, and I am concious that authors are not paid for their work when books are passed around and sold second hand. Never the less, I simply couldn’t afford to buy all my books at the new price, and any way; producing more new books means using more raw materials, which then impact on the environment, and the more new stuff that gets made means the more stuff that is getting thrown away into landfill….
    With novels, I have a couple of good friends who have similar taste to me and we pass books on to each other. I always browse the books in charity shops and stalls (though all those ‘only £1’s’ do add up – sigh), and I’m lucky enough to have a free book exchange at my local station.
    I know you are a fan of persephone books; I love them too though don’t ever seem to spot them in charity shops. However, I have bought several from eBay. I expect most readers choose to keep them as they are such lovely things in their own right as well as being so re-readable – I certainly do! I discovered the Girls Gone By publishers recently http://www.ggbp.co.uk who also reprint 20th century books.
    I see you have The Persuit of Love on your reading pile. I read that, and the subsequent books in the series, earlier this year and thought them hilarious. I’ve also rediscovered Betty MacDonald’s very witty accounts of life in depression era America recently, which have been reprinted, and worth looking out for if you haven’t already encountered them.
    Best wishes,
    Cornelia

    • Thank you, Cornelia, it’s so lovely to hear from people who read my blog 🙂 I’m impressed you avoid Amazon: I really go through phases as they make it so easy with wishlists, reduced prices etc, especially when I’m in a hurry for birthday gifts. A few years ago I found out that authors receive a small royalty fee every time their books are borrowed from libraries and, funnily enough, I’m actually reading a Persephone Press book borrowed from my local library (Monica Dickens).
      Thank you for the reading suggestions – I was very pleased to learn that Girls Gone By are based just down the road from me in Bath! Thank you – I will check them out as they sound my kind of publisher.Looking forward to reading ‘The Pursuit of Love’ on holiday.

Leave a Reply

