This week’s Thrifty Finds

 

This Week's Thrifty Finds via secondhandtales.wordpress.com

Last week was a rather strange one, given that it was bisected by the General Election.

1. Pre election I managed to get back into cooking and baking, and using up leftovers. I made soup from some Sunday lunch veg and baked cakes with some brownish bananas (the latter to keep us going on election night).

2. not quite a Thrifty Find but I do need to make a decision as to whether I continue with my veg box. I ended up composting a fair bit of it last week 😦

 

3. On election night I was very good and, at the North Wiltshire count* I avoided the pre-wrapped biscuits and disposable cups and bought my own snacks and reusables.

4. We received a few gifts last week. Friends came to dinner and bought some homemade goodies:

l-r: biscotti, elderflower cordial, chipotle ketchup 

5. And we had a visit from Grandad who gave the girls a new (to them) Wii!!

*my husband stood as Green Party candidate; see my previous post for more.

What were your Thrifty Finds! please share on my facebook page, or use #thriftyfinds on Twitter or instagram

2 thoughts on “This week’s Thrifty Finds

  1. My thrifty finds this week have been chicory, mushrooms and cup-a-soups at the Fuel for School stall at my daughter’s school. Over the past couple of weeks there seem to have been fewer foods on offer, so I wonder if that means more parents are starting to use the stall (it is first set out on Wednesday after school but I can’t go till Thursday morning).

    Mainly, I’m overwhelmed by how much money (etc) I am saving by having my own strawberries. I’ve just worked out that my garden produces upwards of £50 worth (no idea how much organic strawberries would cost so going on standard supermarket prices). I made strawberry and rhubarb jam this afternoon, so with lemon juice from the aforementioned stall, the only costs were 900g of British sugar and the gas to cook and sterilise.

    Well done for taking your own drinks and snacks on election night.

Leave a Reply

