This week’s Thrifty Finds (13-19 March)

 

This Week's Thrifty Finds via secondhandtales.wordpress.comFollowing the busy-ness of last week, and the Repair cafe, this past week has been fairly quiet on the Thrifty Finds front.

  1. It turns out that the vacuum cleaner I had repaired (all by myself) still has a fault and the fan belt broke again. So I have ordered two more spare ones – I am still determined to fix this myself!
  2. I had a very quiet week socially and spent the weekend at home (which is unusual for us). We borrowed a dvd and had a Saturday night curled up watching a film.(Last weekend we’d been out both nights and ended up paying for babysitters as our eldest was on sleepovers).
  3.  I finally got round to making a fruit crumble with the blackberries and apple I had frozen from the Autumn.

4. I went on annual leave last Friday. It seems odd as I only started in January but I have to take the leave before the end of the month, so I’m not back at work until the middle of next week. I spent Friday with my eldest who had a Teacher Training day so was out of school. We trawled the shops in Bath and I picked up two pairs of badly needed trousers for work; sadly I seem to have gone up a dress size 😦

I picked up a pair of new trousers for £20 and these gorgeous wide legged grey trousers for £6 from the excellent Save the Children shop in Bath:

We had a cheap McDonalds but then spent £20 on the cinema (one adult, one child for a Friday daytime showing – curse you Odeon!)

5. Having bought some new (to me) clothes and, having to re-assess my sizing, I have started to sort through my wardrobe. I’ll write more about this next week…. My husband and I also sorted through his wardrobe so he should be able to see things better (rather than shirt being hung upon another shirt,then being hung on a jumper!!)

This coming week I am going to enjoy being off work and catching up with friends, and I have a big list of organising projects I want to get started on too… Do you have any organising/Spring Cleaning tasks on your ‘to do’ list?

Please  share your Thrifty Finds on my facebook page, or use #thriftyfinds on Twitter or instagram

7 thoughts on “This week’s Thrifty Finds (13-19 March)

  1. I don’t do a great deal of shopping, thrifty or otherwise, but I did get a replacement lid for my 48 ounce Thermos, making it usable again, and I signed up with Fixit for their May repair workshop in my city in hopes they can help me get my floor-cleaning robot working. I’ve tried everything else I can think of to repair it, so this is my last chance effort.

    After a few weeks hiatus from cooking regularly, I’m back in the kitchen, making beans for vegan “chick’n” salad, hummus and soups, roasting beets, feeding my starter and such. Thank you for giving me this opportunity to take note of some of the things I do to slow rampant consumerism, if only in my own household. It’s easy to feel I’m doing nothing, but when I respond to a question like this, and leave out a lot of items, I realize I’m not as much of a slacker as I thought. : )

    Thank you, too, for sharing your journey on this thrifty path. It helps not to feel alone, doesn’t it?

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, Kathryn. Do you sometimes feel you have bad days, as well as good, though? I ended up throwing a few things away yesterday which could possibly have been repaired – but I just got fed up with having them around. And then I feel guilty….
      Well done on getting your replacement lid for the Thermos and good luck with fixing your robot!!

      • Oh yes. I had an entire box of things needing repair. My sweetheart took it to Goodwill, which perhaps can repair and sell them, employing a few people in the process, but I fear they may have gone straight to landfill.

  2. Oh yes, I have plenty of spring organising to do….. after getting a shed, I am so pleased to be making genuine progress 😊.

    Anyway, I hope you enjoy the rest of your annual leave.

Leave a Reply

