This week’s Thrifty Finds (6 – 12 Feb)

This Week's Thrifty Finds via secondhandtales.wordpress.com

I hope you all had a good week.  I was busy at work and the kids started to wind down in time for a well-deserved week off school. These are my Thrifty Finds:

  1. In preparation for the half-term holidays I did a lot of baking this week. I froze muffins and pancakes to eat next week for snacks and lunches at home.

baking snacks for lunches

2. I popped along to the monthly market/bring and buy sale in our village. Run by the local church it is stocked with bric-a-brac and books. Prices are dirt cheap and I had to resist the urge to come home with handfuls of books (and that slight musty/damp smell that is its signature smell). In the end I bought one book – we have the audio version on itunes but I hadn’t spotted the book before:

Wolf Brother book

3. I’m working my way through my next re-read, ‘Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day’, the first Persephone Press book I ever read. I picked this copy up from a charity shop. Ironically, there was the exact copy on sale at the Church sale (as above)!

Persephone Books.

4. Not sure this is a Thrifty Find but I have started to listen to podcasts a lot more, particularly if I’m pottering at home. I’ve listened to nearly every episode from Dan Sow’s History Hit but have also come across the US-based Call Your Girlfriend series. Hosted by California based Aminatou Sow and New Yorker Ann Friedman it is funny, insightful and political. They discuss women’s rights, Beyonce, the African American experience and there is a LOT of talk about Donald Trump. Catching up on their weekly podcast has become a bit of a weekend ritual in my house.

Do you listen to podcasts? I’m always on the look out for new ones to try so any recommendations would be gratefully received. You can also share your Thrifty Finds on my facebook page, or use #thriftyfinds on Twitter or instagram

3 thoughts on “This week’s Thrifty Finds (6 – 12 Feb)

  1. I love podcasts! They are my salvation when I’m in an insomniac phase (as I am at the moment), and great for entertainment while I’m crocheting or doing the ironing or on the train. So far mostly BBC R4 and R4Extra podcasts, through I’m going to start branching out soon.
    Current favourites are: The Moth Radio Hour – wonderful funny/sad/entertaining/inspiring short tales told by ordinary people in front of an audience; R4 drama – 45 minute plays, sometimes a series of them – such range and diversity!
    Am thinking about joining Instagram – would appreciate your thoughts on this!

    • Thankyou, I’ll try the Moth Hour. I sometimes dip into R4 ones – they do those fascinating 5 min ones; I really enjoyed the one about the I identified body on Saddleworth Moor (not sure if it’s still available ). Yes you definitely need to do Instagram! Your posts would be really interesting – it’s a bit like a quicker way of blogging. Let me know if you want to meet for a cuppa….

Leave a Reply

