This week’s Thrifty Finds (23-30 Jan)

 

This Week's Thrifty Finds via secondhandtales.wordpress.comI’m not sure if they count as Thrifty Finds but this past week has found me trying to use up leftovers and struggling with the whole veg box thing…

  1. We finished off a few things that had been hiding in the freezer. We seem to have lots of packets that just have one thing in them, ie one pizza, one veggie grill. Still, the kids don’t seem to mind the mixing and matching that goes on. Thanks to some forward planning by my husband who cooked a load of bolognese, we had an easy to cook meal after a busy day at work as well.
  2. As I mentioned I am struggling with the veg box. Now that I’m busier with work I don’t always have the time to cook meals that will use up items like cabbage, celeriac, beetroot and winter lettuce. I find that I have to be quite imaginative when it comes to getting the girls to eat these ingredients. I’m not sure if a veg box is right for us still and find it a challenge to use it all up (looking back at previous posts it seems I had exactly the same problem two years ago!) . On the plus side, a friend lent me the Anna Jones cookery book and, over the weekend, I made a winter salad plus celeriac steaks and sweet potato fries.

using up the veg box via secondhandtales.wordpress.com

3. I also got my ‘baking mojo’ back, having not made much since Christmas. I used up the beetroots in the veg box to make some brownies and also baked some banana cake and muffins.

4. On a non-food related matter my husband and I sneaked off to the cinema during the day. Such a treat! It was a Monday and so we got cheaper cinema tickets.

5. I decided that this January I was going to ‘re-read’ my bookshelves. So I have been going back to some favourite novels that haven’t been read for ages. I just finished ‘Starlight’ by Stella Gibbons and am now halfway through ‘Every Man for Himself’ by Beryl Bainbridge. I am really enjoying reading them again and I haven’t had to go out and buy or borrow any new books. So, possibly the ‘Thriftiest Find’ of all!

re-reading the bookshelf

Do you ever go back to any favourite novels you’ve kept on the bookshelf – or do you do give them away once they’ve been read?

Don’t forget you can also share your Thrifty Finds on my facebook page, or use #thriftyfinds on Twitter or instagram

4 thoughts on “This week’s Thrifty Finds (23-30 Jan)

  1. I don’t reread novels – once read, off to the charity shop. I used to keep books but we just don’t have the space now.

    I find the library a win-win situation, as the author still gets royalties and the book will be re-used time and time again.

  2. Just been reading another blog which was discussing food waste. There is a phone app called Riverford Veg Recipes, which helps use up a veg box.

    As an aside, why not try vegetables like celeriac steamed and then simply mashed with butter (and salt and pepper). I love any root vegetable prepared this way. My daughter has yet to catch on but I could eat half a celeriac in one sitting like this ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

