Homemade Blackberry Cordial

homemade blackberry cordial via secondhandtales.wordpress.com

Last week I picked quite a few blackberries. Having already frozen a batch and made a couple of crumbles, I thought I would try my hand at making blackberry cordial. Like elderberry cordial, this is meant to be high in Vitamin C and good for colds and sore throats.

I took the recipe from the wonderful ‘Festivals, Family and Food’. Published by Hawthorn Press this has been a staple in our house for many years. It is divided into seasons and features stories, recipes and crafts to celebrate the different festivals and rhythms of year. I particularly love the pages on Autumn and Harvest.

 

Festivals, Family and Food: Guide to Seasonal Celebration

I followed this recipe for the cordial. The book is quite dated so it still gives imperial measurements. As I didn’t have 2lbs of blackberries I had to do some rough calculations (remembering that there are 16oz in 1lb which, for a metric-bred person like myself, I find confusing!)

blackberry cordial recipe from 'Festivals, Family and Food'

Anyway the recipe is really easy to follow. Basically, you just soak the berries in a quantity of white wine vinegar and leave for seven days, stirring occasionally.

making blackberry cordial

After seven days, strain the berries. Boil the juice with lots of sugar and honey. Leave to cool and then pour into a bottle. The cordial can then be stored in a dark cupboard.

The cordial tasted fine. Next year I’m going to pick a lot more berries to make a few bottles that will see us through the winter. I think I would also replace the white wine vinegar with apple cider vinger which is meant to have more healing properties.

Have you ever tried making your own cordial, or using blackberry or elderberry cordial to soothe colds?

If you liked this please visit my facebook page,ย  Twitter or instagram

 

3 thoughts on “Homemade Blackberry Cordial

  1. I’m surprised that the recipe calls for vinegar – I guess that helps preserve it?

    I’m also amazed that you can still pick blackberries. Maybe there are some left here but mostly they are inaccessible or never matured.

Leave a Reply

