Mend It May

Mend It May

I recently wrote here about my sewing pile and trying to find the motivation to tackle it. Well lo and behold a few days later I read that Jen from My Make Do And Mend Life here has set up Mend It May. The idea behind this 31 day project is to get us all mending again. Jen explains it far better in her blog, but there are many reasons why we should all get mending: environmental, cost, learning new skills, sense of achievement etc.

This is just the incentive I need to both a) complete my sewing projects (or at least some) and b) tackle the mending pile. Even though I help to run a Repair Cafe I am still rubbish at getting my own things fixed and, to my shame, have a few items hanging around at home that either need to be mended or taken to the tip (oh the green guilt/shame!).

So far this is my mending/sewing list for May:

  1. button that fell off my trousers last week
  2. finish off bloomin’ denim skirt
  3. look at toaster (our electrician at Repair Cafe said it needed a good clean!)
  4. look at old breadmaker: does it need a new element?
  5. ย new glass jar for cafetiere
  6. ipod speakers
  7. various holes in various items of clothing (legacy from our moth infestation here)
  8. name tags on girls’ uniform
  9. stupid cold water button that keeps falling off tap
  10. even my sewing box needs mending (oh the irony!)

sewing box

plus plenty of more! If you are interested in joining in – or just following for tips and inspiration I highly recommend reading Jen’s blog or, if you use Twitter or Instagram the hashtag is #menditmay

Good luck!

(If you like this post please follow me on facebook , twitter or instagram)

4 thoughts on “Mend It May

  1. Like minds! I’m taking a break right now from writing a post about mending a kitchen appliance rather than replacing it. Do you know about ifixit.com? People share their knowledge about fixing lots of household items. Sadly, no one there has shared how to fix my Mint robotic floor cleaner–yet!

Leave a Reply

