Could you wear one dress for 365 days?

clothes swap dress

 

I recently came across an amazing project carried out by Canadian journalist and writer, Elizabeth Withey, called Frock Around the Clock.

For all of last year Elizabeth wore just one dress every day. The simple black dress (which she called Laverne, after its style name) was worn with leggings, tights, jumpers, belts, tops etc for all of 2015. Every few days Elizabeth would carefully hand wash it and leave it to dry. It was dressed up for dinner in restaurants, dressed down for camping trips and even went abroad to Iceland.

Elizabeth wore it because she wanted to spend time doing more important things than worrying about what to wear every day. I really recommend you have a look at her blog – which is very honest. I really admire her decision to reduce her wardrobe to just one thing so that she was no longer being sucked into the cycle of worrying about what to wear, shopping for clothes, washing piles of laundry etc.

However I’m not sure I could do this. Over the past couple of years I have struggled with the Capsule Wardrobe concept, Project 333 and have written here and here about my adventures. At present I am taking a break from the project as I try to figure out what works for me.

I guess what it comes down to is personal style. I like to wear clothes that don’t always go together and, while I am far more strong willed when scouring charity shops, I do like to buy quirky, original pieces. BUT it would be so much easier waking up every morning and knowing what I was going to wear – because I didn’t have the choice (as most of the world, beyond our comfy First World status, has).

Could you wear just one piece of clothing all year?

(Below is a really interesting interview with Elizabeth from My Green Closet’s Verena Erin)

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Could you wear one dress for 365 days?

  1. Not sure I could restrict my wardrobe quite that much, though I did go through a phase of wearing only black, which was tantamount to the same thing.

  2. Barbara says:

    I guess it would work for people who don’t live where it’s stinking hot
    6 months of the year. I’d be washing that dress every night!

  3. I grew up with an extremely limited wardrobe, and for many years in adulthood had two pairs of pants–the good pair and the everyday pair, and three or four tops to wear with them. That was it. So this doesn’t seem all that much of a stretch to me. Even today, I wear just a few pieces each season, depending on whether it’s hot or cold. I would love to own a shirt like that, with its asymmetrical neckline and dolman sleeves. So versatile!

Leave a Reply

