What to do with old Christmas cards?

Today is 6 January, or Twelfth Night. This is the day where traditionally we are supposed to take down all our Christmas decorations. While most of our festive trimmings were put away at the weekend I am rebelling a little by keeping up the Christmas lights as they look pretty and add a touch of much needed colour.

However the Christmas cards have been taken down – all 165 of them! I now need to decide what to do with them.

what to do with old Christmas cards?

It has always been a family tradition to turn the cards into gift labels for the following year:

Christmas card labels

However I think we’d struggle at using 165 labels next Christmas! So I’ve turned to beloved pinterest for a few more ideas on what to do with old cards:

This one by Bobbi Lewin turns Christmas cards into baubles that can be strung to create a recycled garland.

There’s a host of ideas on the Care2 website here including making new Christmas cards and postcards (to use as thank you notes perhaps).

I also like the idea of turning the cards into jam jar lids for festive gifts here. (This S.C.R.A.P. blog actually has some amazing ideas for re-using just about anything)

I also found that the Good Housekeeping website came up trumps with these ideas, including turning old cards into pocket notebooks, which is a great craft I could do with the girls next Christmas.

If anyone has any other ideas please let me know while I’m sat at home with a pile of festive cards!

UPDATE: See my tutorial here on making no sew Christmas Card bunting!

4 thoughts on “What to do with old Christmas cards?

  1. Nadine says:

    Good ideas; so many cards are just sitting in a box. My mother crafts these beautiful cards every year for birthdays and Christmases, so of course I want to keep them because they are like pieces of art. Just haven’t figured out how to use them, especially if I want them on display! They’re just so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

