Supermarket free for Lent

It’s been a while since I took on a challenge in the blogging world. This year I’ve promised myself to only take part in those projects that I think I can complete and that I feel are really calling to me. A couple of weeks ago I had two frustrating incidents with online supermarket shopping. For a variety of reasons I have been doing a monthly online shop for the past year. I’ve felt slightly uneasy at doing this but it has just been very convenient.

But last week I came across the #supermarketfreelent challenge via Westy Writes and decided this was for me. It’s time to break the supermarket habit and re-connect with both my village stores and the wide range of independent shops in my nearby town.

Starting from the beginning of Lent on tomorrow (18th) I’m going to shop locally and independently for the next 40 days. Having recently taken delivery of a month’s worth of groceries this is a slight cheat. I will need to top up with some items, though, and will carry on with my veg and fruit boxes.

Watch this space….

 

3 thoughts on “Supermarket free for Lent

  1. nessjibberjabberuk says:

    I’ve tried this a couple of times but always get stuck on certain items such as unsalted butter and bread flour and yeast. There is a farm shop a drive away but it’s part of Dobbies garden centre which is owned by Tesco! My problem also is that there is no town where I live but a shopping centre full of chain stores. However I can walk there with my shopping trolley in tow in 15 minutes. I have a good butcher’s but again it is a car journey away. Across the road from it is a greengrocers but on the day I went it was closed! Very frustrating.

    • I can really sympathise. I think the one thing I’ll learn from this is how prevalent supermarkets are and how hard it is to avoid them. I’ve never heard of a farm shop being owned by Tescos’ before – is it obvious (ie branding) and does the farm shop still sell locally sourced goods? I think I’m going to try to research supermarkets as part of this challenge because I have been thinking about the local Co-op which has a small supermarket and, surely, must be more ethical.

Leave a Reply

