Sofa darning

One day I hope to be a grown up and own/buy a brand new sofa(oh who am I kidding, I really can’t see myself queuing at a DFS Boxing Day sale). In the meantime we rely on hand-me-down sofas from relatives and friends which seem to last fairly well. The latest – a purple sofa bed – has been around for a few years and is starting to show its age. We had planned to pick up a cheap sofa cover to hide the threadbare arm but this hasn’t happened. I have a bunch of friends round tonight and the shame of the tatty looking sofa has prompted me to get out the needle and thread and attempt a (very poor) patching session.

Here is the before:

20140508-095158.jpg

And after an evening spent watching telly and darning here is the finished result:

20140508-095307.jpg

I’m not going to win any prizes for Upholsterer of the Year and my husband did give me a rather puzzled look when he saw it, but I believe it does look better than before ….. perhaps?!

One thought on “Sofa darning

Leave a Reply

