How many phones does a girl need?

I recently had a clear out of the girls’ bedroom and, to my horror, discovered this collection of old  mobile phones that they play with:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Okay, so the bottom  two aren’t ‘real’ and the others are all obsolete so they can’t call or text their friends with them (although my six year old did say ‘lol means laugh out loud’ yesterday (!?). However I was slightly unsettled by the number of unwanted phones we have. While Phil has a Blackberry I am still smart-phone-less and rely on a rather basic Nokia one that does take pics (purchased from a friend so I guess second-hand). I have been toying with the idea recently of getting an i-phone or something similar to make it easier to pick up emails etc. But do I really need it and who says I have to have one?

I confess to being somewhat of a Luddite when embracing new gadgets, although we did purchase an i-pad at Christmas as a family present which I have become a convert to. I am obviously able to work my way round a computer somewhat by creating this blog, becoming addicted to Pinterest and occasionally checking Facebook. I’m not sure where this rambling is heading to. When faced with waste like this it does make me feel uneasy. Once again I also come across the term planned obsolence. I also wonder what it teaches our children about having to have things (my 11 year old claims she is the only one in her class not to have a mobile phone although I question that).

Anyway the phones are off to the Post Office to be recycled.

Leave a Reply

